You’re probably thinking hang on a minute beer isn’t veggie? Well, no actually a lot of it isn’t! It’s all to do with how the beer is strained. A product called isinglass is used which is actually the dried swim bladders of fish. This sticky collagen like substance is used to clarify beer and make the yeast settle. During the isinglass straining process small particles of fish are left in the beer. Not very appetizing, right?
Anyway, good news! The craft beer movement has meant more and more beer now doesn’t include this ingredient. Craft beer companies are using a more natural process of making beer with taste at the forefront. The hoppy and hazy craft beers avoid isinglass as it would remove all the taste. The bigger commercial breweries use isinglass as its cheaper to make beer that way. Thanks to modern technology, beers are now able to drip clear on their own. So the future of beer is looking cruelty free.
Even better news in 2016 Guinness HQ announced that they were to stop using isinglass and make their product completely vegan.
So remember - Cloudy beer = more natural and veggie friendly!
If you’re unsure if your alcohol has animal products in it then the website Barnivore is a great resource.